About us About us

Departments, programs and fields of study of the Faculty of Agricultural Science & Engineering are as follows:


u II-1 Department of Agronomy and Plant Breeding

Founded in 1917, Agronomy and Plant Breeding Dept. is the oldest and the largest in the country. The Department's mission is to make contributions to the county's agricultural production and world science through teaching, research, and extension. The Department acts as the state two Scientific Centers of Excellence: Forage Crops Production and Breeding, Pulse Crops Production and Breeding.


   B.Sc. program: One major; Agronomy and Plant Breeding (with two specializations of Agronomy and Plant Breeding).

   M.Sc. program: Six majors: Plant Breeding; Crop Physiology; Crop Ecology; Weed Science; Seed Science and Technology; Agricultural Biotechnology.

   Ph.D. program: Three majors: Plant Breeding (with two specializations of Biometrical Genetics, Molecular Genetics and Genetic Engineering); Agronomy (with two specializations of Crop Ecology, Crop Physiology); Weed Science.

Research facilities

  • Laboratories: Genomics lab, Genetic Engineering Lab, Proteomics Lab, Molecular Plant Breeding Lab, Physiology lab, Ecology Lab, Weed Science Lab, Seed Lab, General Lab
  • Research field (320 ha)
  • Greenhouses
  • Plant gene-bank conserving 10000 wheat and 5000 pulse accessions
  • Four growth chambers
  • Five Cold rooms (-20  to 300C)
  • Undergraduate and graduate student's computer lab


   The department has 25 faculty members consisting of 15 professors, 6 associate professors, 2 assistant professor and 2 instructors. The Department honors that some of its faculty members were appointed as the minister of agriculture, deputy minister of agriculture, president of the University of Tehran, dean of the campus, etc. Twenty one full time staffs also are working in the dept.


   Over 25 B.Sc., 32 M.Sc. and 15 Ph.D. students are enrolled in each year. Currently about 100 B.Sc., 71 M.Sc., and 62 Ph.D. students are studying in this department.


u II-2 Department of Animal Science

Offering Animal Science course first began in 1945 in the College of Agriculture until the founding of the Livestock Research Farm in 1955. In 1956 Animal Husbandry major as part of the Bachelor of Agricultural Science was launched. Later, in 1961, the major became the Bachelor in Agricultural Science, lead to the Department of Animal Science which was being recognized as part of the College of Agriculture in 1963. The Masters of Animal Science in the University of Tehran was first introduced in 1967. The PhD program in Animal Nutrition was added in 1984,

   Followed by the PhD program for Animal Breeding and Genetic in 2001, and finally the PhD program in Animal Physiology was added to the expanding degree prospects. The Bachelors in Animal Science degree with either livestock or poultry majors, prepares undergraduate students for professions in livestock or poultry breeding as animal science specialists, working as technical officers, executive officers, or managers.

   At the graduate levels, department offers professional courses to train postgraduate students with masters' majors in Animal Nutrition, Genetics and Breeding, Physiology, Management of Livestock and Poultry farms, and Apiculture. Postgraduate students are prepared to enter the work force as researchers, academics, as well as senior executives for manufacturing and production enterprises within the country. At the Doctoral level, admitted students can major in Ruminant Nutrition, Poultry Nutrition, Reproductive Physiology, Growth Physiology, and Digestive Physiology, as well as Animal Breeding with majors in either Molecular or Quantitative Genetics. After passing the relevant educational and research trainings, postgraduates as PhD are prepared to be members of faculty accountable for pursuing professional, educational and research activities. Currently 22 faculty members are working at the department in different disciplines including Breeding and Genetics, Ruminant and Poultry Nutrition, Physiology and Apiculture. The department has, currently, a total of 100 undergraduate students, 98 Masters Students and 56 PhD students in different fields of animal sciences.
Department of Animal Science has several labs which provide the ground for conducting different researches by the faculty and graduate students.  The labs include:

Biotechnology Laboratory

- Central Animal Nutrition Laboratory

- Animal Physiology Laboratory Complex divided into:

· Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory

· Endocrinology Laboratory

· IVF Laboratory

- Honeybee Research Laboratory

- The Department of Animal Science Research Farm

a)    Livestock Division:

The Department of Animal Science includes research and education farm for dairy, sheep, and goat farming. The farm has the capacity to hold 180 dairy cattle, and a total of 300 heads of sheep and goat. The station possess a fully equipped milking facility since 2012, comprising of a 16 unit herringbone milking machine. The stations' other amenities include food storage barns, mills and mixers, roofed storage (straw and hay), tractors, loaders, feeders, and hay press.  The station also includes a pharmacy, resting dorms, changing rooms, office, caretaker rooms, and security.  

b)    Poultry Division:

This division includes broiler breeding house (8000 head capacity), laying hen house (7200 head capacity), quail breeding house (7200 head capacity), and incubators
 ( 10,000 eggs capacity). The houses have lateral ventilation, central heating and cooling systems. The research broiler farm contains a 3500 capacity over multiple houses, and the laying farm has a capacity of 300.

c)     Honeybee Division:

The apiary holds 80 hives for research and educational purposes. This division has necessary equipment and facilities to conduct different apiculture activities and research.


u II-3 Department of Horticultural Science  

The department of Horticultural Sciences was founded in 1956. At present, students are admitted at three levels of B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. in horticultural sciences. Landscape design, was added as another branch of study at the department from year 2000. In addition to the routine courses, the department offers the principle and basic courses of general horticulture and botany for the students from other departments. Fruit and vegetable production, Floriculture, and breeding products of Medicinal and Spicy plants are the minors of study at this department. This department acts as the state Scientific Center of Excellence for "Breeding and Biotechnology of Stone Fruit Rootstocks".


u II-4 Department of Plant Protection

Identification of plant pests and diseases, as well as their control are among the aims pursued in this department. This is the oldest department of the college, with a record of more than 70 years of educational and research activities. Known as the "Division of Pest Control" in 1940, the courses of zoology, entomology and toxicology as well as plant pest and disease control were offered. The "Division" changed its name to the "Department of Plant Protection" in 1965. At present the department offers its education at B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. levels. The department of plant protection offers the general courses of entomology and plant pathology as basic agricultural courses for the majority of students at the college. This department acts as the state Scientific Center of Excellence for Biological Control of Plant Pests and Diseases.